Home > Mountains > Flashback Friday – Weekend in Wausau

Flashback Friday – Weekend in Wausau

Wausau, Wisconsin

My family and I have taken a weekend trip to Wausau, Wisconsin the last few winters.  It may not sound like the most exciting place to visit, but it really is a great time.  My family loves to ski but, it can be difficult and expensive to fly or drive out to the Rocky Mountains, especially if you can only get away from work or school for a few days.  We have found that it is much easier and cheaper to drive to Wausau.  We have tried other ski resorts in Wisconsin, but our favorite is Granite Peak.  After researching a bunch of different ski resorts in Wisconsin, we found Granite Peak. We read that Granite Peak was the largest resort in state and it had a high speed lift.  I didn’t need to read anymore, I was sold.

My family and I stayed at Rib Mountain Inn.  The hotel that was on the base of the mountain and only about 100 yards from the high speed lift, it was perfect.  Every morning there was a full hot breakfast which was always fantastic, the rooms were very large, and the hot tub was great to have after skiing all day.  Rib Mountain Inn is only located about two miles from downtown Wausau, making it very easy to find a great place for dinner or anything else you may need.  Wausau has a lot of great restaurants, but in my opinion the best two are Wausau Mine Company and the Great Dane Pub.

Granite Peak is a great place to go for a quick weekend ski trip.  The resort offers 7 lifts that provide access to 72 runs.  The resort is designed to be a great place to learn to ski as well as to challenge even expert skiers.  The resort also offers large tree skiing areas if you like to find your own path, and has many large terrain parks.  Transworld Snowboarding rated Granite Peak as the #1 place to go snowboarding in the Midwest because of the large terrain parks.

Granite Peak

Granite Peak

Granite Peak

Geoff and Katie

Nicki and I

Granite Peak

Granite Peak

Granite Peak

  1. July 16, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    The photos look fantastic, as does the trip!

  2. December 6, 2011 at 11:55 am

    Boyfriend and I want to go skiing this winter. Is Wausau your favorite spot in the midwest so far? I know you guys have gone to Devil’s Head before, too. We want something that is a good price, but nice, homey, and romantic is never a bad thing.

    • December 6, 2011 at 2:51 pm

      I really enjoy Granite Peak in Wausau. I think it has the longest / most runs. One of their lifts is also a high speed lift, and that’s very nice to have. The only down side to Granite Peak is how far it is. From Chicago I think it is about 4 hours. I have been to Devil’s Head and I did not care for it. I have heard good things about Alpine Valley (only an hour and 45min from Chicago) but from the looks of their trail map it is smaller than granite peak. I hope that helps! Let me know if you have any other questions!

  3. August 27, 2013 at 6:55 am

    Looks so beautiful! Thanks for sharing your photos of the trip!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

