Home > Beaches, Caribbean > Flashback Friday – Eastern Caribbean Cruise

Flashback Friday – Eastern Caribbean Cruise

Holland America

In 2007 I took a cruise on Holland America through the Eastern Caribbean.  We departed from Fort Lauderdale and went to Grand Turk, Tortola, St. Thomas, and Half Moon Cay.  I have been on several cruises now and this is still my favorite one.  The first port we stopped at was Grand Turk.  Grand Turk is a small flat Caribbean island that is known for deep fishing and scuba diving.  If you’re not into fishing or scuba diving, no worries, there are also many gorgeous beaches on the island and a Margaritaville right as you get off the ship.

My family and I went on a snorkeling trip that morning, it was fantastic!  A catamaran sailboat picked us up from the dock and took us to the reef.  I jumped off the front of the boat and I could immediately see all the fish around me, the water was crystal clear.  The water was only about fifteen feet where I had jumped in so I could easily see the bottom.  As I swam towards the back of the boat, I could see a large drop off not too far from me.  I swam over to see how deep it dropped off to be and I was amazed when I looked over the edge and could not even see the bottom.  The water just turned a beautiful dark blue color.  I began to dive down and swim as deep as I could off the edge, there were hundreds of beautiful bright colored fish hiding along the rocky wall.  I wish I would have had an underwater camera with me that day, it was gorgeous.  After snorkeling, we headed to Margaritaville for a few drinks before headed back to the ship.

Grand Turk

Grand Turk

The next port we stopped at was Tortola.  So far, Tortola is my favorite island in the Caribbean, but I haven’t been to very many of them yet.  I just love the atmosphere that the entire island has and how friendly everyone is.  My favorite beach also happens to be on Tortola.  I absolutely love Cane Garden Bay.  It is a fairly busy beach during the day, with a lot of restaurants and bars that sit right on the edge of the beach, but it is almost empty around sunset.

Cruising through the islands toward Tortola

Cruising through the islands toward Tortola

Cruising through the islands toward Tortola

Cruising through the islands toward Tortola

Cane Garden Bay, Tortola

Cane Garden Bay, Tortola

Cane Garden Bay, Tortola

Cane Garden Bay, Tortola

Cane Garden Bay, Tortola

Cane Garden Bay, Tortola

Cane Garden Bay, Tortola

Cane Garden Bay, Tortola

Even though our next stop was St. Thomas, we didn’t stay there.  We grabbed a ferry and headed toward St. John.  Most of St. John is part of the Virgin Islands National Park making it very peaceful and beautiful to drive through.  There a lot of beaches that are very secluded and can be only reached by boat or by hiking to them.  We didn’t have too much time that day so we went to one of the more popular beaches for the day, unfortunately I don’t remember the name of the beach.

St. John

St. John

St. John

Sea Turtle

Leaving St. Thomas

Leaving St. Thomas

Leaving St. Thomas

Leaving St. Thomas

Leaving St. Thomas

The last stop we had was at Half Moon Cay.  Half Moon Cay is a private island owned by Holland America.  I spent my day lounging in a beach chair and floating in the beautiful water.  But, if you’re looking for a more active day you can also rent Hobie Cat Sailboats, wave-runners, or even take a horseback ride down the beach and through the water.

Half Moon Cay

Half Moon Cay

Half Moon Cay

Half Moon Cay

Thanks for reading! Hopefully I’ll be able to visit the Caribbean again soon.  What islands would you recommend going to?

  1. Elizabeth Liebel
    July 8, 2011 at 4:51 pm
  2. Jake
    July 21, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    When you say Tortola, you really mean Tortuga, right?

    • July 21, 2011 at 8:14 pm

      Jake :

      When you say Tortola, you really mean Tortuga, right?

      That’s exactly what I meant. haha

  3. October 12, 2013 at 7:30 am

    I visited various web sites but the audio feature for audio songs current at this web
    page is truly marvelous.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

