Home > Mountains > Flashback Friday – Skiing in Utah

Flashback Friday – Skiing in Utah

Driving up the mountain

I thought I would start a weekly series called “Flashback Friday”.  During these posts I will quickly talk about a past vacation and post pictures from that trip.  These will be short posts consisting mostly of pictures.  No one likes to work too hard on Fridays.

For those of you who don’t know I am currently living in St. Louis, Missouri and the summers here can be brutal.  Today the heat index outside is around 102 degrees, so I thought I’d write about somewhere cooler.  Solitude Ski Resort in Utah.  I took a ski trip my sophomore year in high school to Solitude and it was fantastic.  Unfortunately, I was not a very good skier at the time so I don’t have many pictures of actually skiing in Solitude (I didn’t want to break my camera by falling on it) but I do have a lot of pictures of the area.  Solitude is a small ski resort that is built to look like a small ski town.  Solitude’s “town” has hotels, condos, and several restaurants and bars that are all centered around a center square.  The center square has a small frozen pond in the center for ice skating and fire pits around the outside to help you keep warm.  I visited Solitude after a few days after Christmas and the whole resort was still decorated with Christmas trees inside and outside, it was very beautiful.  One day we took a break from skiing and drove to look at some of the other ski resorts in the area including Brighton, Snowbird, and Alta.  I would have to say our ski resort and mountain looked like the most beginner friendly, which was nice for me at the time.  However, Solitude also has ski runs that are designed to challenge even the professional skiers that live in nearby Salt Lake City, Utah.

Hotel in Solitude

Solitude

Fire Pit and Ice Skating

Frozen Rose

Solitude

Solitude

Solitude

Solitude

Solitude

Driving to Brighton

Driving to Brighton

Brighton

Brighton

After checking out Brighton we went to see Snowbird and Alta which are right next to each other, and possibly connected.  With them being so close to each other I can’t remember which pictures are of Snowbird or of Alta, that is why they are captioned Snowbird / Alta.

Snowbird / Alta

Snowbird / Alta

Snowbird / Alta

Snowbird / Alta

Snowbird / Alta

Snowbird / Alta

Creek at Snowbird / Alta

Headed back to Solitude

Driving back up to Solitude

Thanks for reading!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

